C-GCC Honors 47 Nursing Graduates at 31st Nurses Pinning Ceremony – CGCC



Featured Video Play Icon

C-GCC Honors 47 Nursing Graduates at 31st Nurses Pinning Ceremony

Columbia-Greene Community College held its 31st nurses pinning and graduation ceremony on Friday, May 11, in the Arts Center Theatre, awarding 47 graduates their nursing pins.

Lydia Bjorkman of Hillsdale and Heather Viccaro of Canaan served as student speakers, while President James Campion delivered the welcome greetings. The program facilitator was Joan Koweek, director of Development and Alumni services.

Receiving their pins were:

Jessica Houghtaling, Alcove;

Cory Chinn and Christine Musarra, both Amenia;

Candace Morey, Ancramdale;

Gertie Czarnecki, Athens;

Wendy Fallon and Heather Viccaro, both Canaan;

Brooke Baum and Deanna Nardone, both Catskill;

Julianna Potter, Chatham;

Marissa Brevoort, East Chatham;

Krista Sabarre, Glenmont;

Lydia Bjorkman, Hillsdale;

Leigh-Ann Brash, Megan Clark, Khaleda Ghani, Alexandra Mercer, Stacey Smith and Marguerite Vargas, all Hudson;

Justine Murphy, Kinderhook;

Patrick Donahue and Kayla Wesolowski, both Kingston;

Adrianna VanAlstyne, Leeds;

Ashley Judson and Megan Scutieri, both Millerton;

Suzanne Cantelmo, Shannon McNeff and Taran Smith, all Palenville;

Serena Race, Philmont;

Debby Duhaney and Hoa Nguyen, both Poughkeepsie;

Neville Tonge, Ravena;

Tracy Beers, Olivia Bernard, Christopher Kahle, Katherine Quirk and Fawn Shaffer, all Red Hook;

Lorna Kessler and Kristen McGilvray, both Rhinebeck;

Margaret Connor, Round Top;

Alexandra Fingar, Katrina Kormanik and Rosemary Whitaker, all Saugerties;

John Welch, Ulster Park;

Catherine Leonard, Valatie;

Nicole Richards, Wassaic,

and Amy Batza, West Coxsackie.

Nursing awards were presented to pinning candidates by Koweek, and Dianne Topple, vice president and dean of Administration:

Serena Race of Philmont received the Lisa Belknap Pearson Award for Volunteerism, which was established in honor of the late C-GCF board member.

Alexandra Mercer of Hudson and Krista Sabarre of Glenmont were recipients of the Thomas H. Quinn Leadership Award, established in memory of the staunch supporter of healthcare related projects in Columbia County, each of whom personifies Quinn’s philosophy of leadership and service.

The Shelly Caggianelli Award for Excellence in Medical/Surgical Nursing, in memory of the dedicated C-GCC nursing instructor, went to Amy Batza of West Coxsackie and Katherine Quirk of Red Hook.

Brooke Baum of Catskill received The Joan Tompkins Columbia Memorial Hospital/Columbia-Greene Community College Nursing Scholarship, which is given in memory of the former president of the CMH School of Nursing who was an architect of C-GCC’s nursing program. The recipient of the award, which recognizes documentation skills and outstanding interactions with patients.

The CMH Auxiliary Research/Teaching Award, for demonstrated interest and excellence in nursing research and/or teaching, was presented to Megan Clark of Hudson and Shannon McNeff of Palenville.

The CMH Auxiliary Science award is given to a student who has demonstrated interest and excellence in the sciences. The award was given to Patrick Donahue and Kayla Wesolowski, both of Kingston.

The Zack Swart nursing award, in honor of her son, is given to students who plan to pursue a career in oncology, pediatrics, or psychiatric nursing and also demonstrates an outstanding bedside manner. Lydia Bjorkman of Hillsdale and Suzanne Cantelmo of Palenville were the recipients.

Nicole Richards of Wassaic and Heather Viccaro of Canaan both received the Kiaja and Kieran Gavlik Nursing Award, an award created by family and friends of the Gavliks, and presented to nursing students with strong academic records and intends to pursue a career in pediatrics or obstetrics.

The Sandy Speenburgh Award, named for a former C-GCC nursing professor is given to a leader who has the ability to integrate academic knowledge, clinical reasoning, critical thinking, and ethical resolve in providing care to patients, was given to Wendy Fallon of Canaan.

The Rita Wood Kraljevich R.N. Award, sponsored by Ann Bullard, daughter of Rita Wood Kraljevich who is an alumna of C-GCC’s nursing program, is given to a student who has been the class representative and who has attended nursing division meetings each month. The award was presented to Catherine Leonard of Valatie.

The Mavis and John Caggianelli Nursing Award, sponsored by John Caggianelli and his wife, Mavis, an alumna of the C-GCC nursing program, is given to a student who possesses a good bedside manner, a calm demeanor and all-around professional aptitude. This year’s recipient was Justine Murphy of Kinderhook.

The Elizabeth H. Gould Scholarship pin in memory of Elizabeth Gould, a nurse, is given to a nursing student who demonstrates leadership skills and excellence in patient care. This year’s recipients were: Tracy Beers of Red Hook, Olivia Bernard of Red Hook, Alexandra Fingar of Saugerties, Khaleda Ghani of Hudson, Jessica Houghtaling of Alcove, Kristen McGilvray of Rhinebeck, Christine Musarra of Amenia, Julianna Potter of Chatham, Taran Smith of Palenville, and Adrianna VanAlstyne of Leeds.

Ten students entering their second year of nursing studies, who have demonstrated excellence in both academic and clinical performance, were awarded the Herman and Eleanor Abel Memorial Nursing Scholarship:

Melissa Nedwell, Claverack;

Sara Altomer, Columbiaville;

Deit Hull, Elizaville;

Ellen Boothroyd, Emily Foutch and Karen Hunt, all Hudson;

Haley Hickman, Kinderhook;

Brendan Mead, Philmont, and

Kathryn Carpenter and Casey Winner, Valatie.

At the ceremony, the nurses pledge was lead by Marissa Brevoort, Wendy Fallon, Kristen McGilvray, and Serena Race, and conducting the candle lighting were Suzanne Cantelmo, Khaleda Ghani and Deanna Nardone. The pianist was Edward Fiebke, Jr., 1992 nursing graduate.

Acting Vice President and Dean of Academic Affairs Carol Doerfer introduced the nursing graduates. Pins were presented by Joseph Watson, vice president and dean of students and enrollment management, and the following nursing division personnel: Dawn Wrigley, chairperson/professor, Anna Cortese, professor and retired lieutenant colonel in the U.S. Army Reserves; Cynthia Engel, professor; Mary Ellen Gallagher, associate professor; Professor Diane Lew-Snider; Marjorie Reilly, assistant professor; and Dari-Cook McGibbon assistant professor. Robbin Wase, nursing secretary was also present.

Koweek gave the concluding remarks and closed the ceremony.